Take Action

The National Scenic Trails Parity Act addresses inequities in the management of the six National Scenic Trails (NSTs) administered by the National Park Service (NPS).

The NPS has assigned “unit status” to the Appalachian, Potomac Heritage, and Natchez Trace NSTs, while withholding “unit status” from the North Country, Ice Age, and New England NSTs. This exclusion has resulted in inequities ranging from access to unit-restricted funding and programs, and the exclusion from major promotional opportunities as part of the National Park System.


S.47, the John D. Dingell, Jr. Conservation, Management, and Recreation Act, passed through both Senate and the House in 2019, and was signed by the President. Contact your Senators and House members, and thank them for passing S.47!

This historic legislation includes the North Country National Scenic Trail Route Adjustment in Minnesota and Vermont and the very important permanent re-authorization of the Land and Water Conservation Fund. These reroutes are 26 years in the making. What an honor to announce this success!

Members of the Senate representing NCNST states who voted “yea” on S.47 include:

  • Cramer (R-ND)
  • Hoeven (R-ND)
  • Klobuchar (D-MN)
  • Smith (D-MN)
  • Baldwin (D-WI)
  • Stabenow (D-MI)
  • Peters (D-MI)
  • Brown (D-OH)
  • Portman (R-OH)
  • Casey (D-PA)
  • Gillibrand (D-NY)
  • Schumer (D-NY)
  • Sanders (I-VT)
  • Leahy (D-VT)

Members of the House with the NCNST in their districts who voted “yea” on S.47 include:

  • Armstrong (R-ND, at-large)
  • Peterson (D-MN-07)
  • Bergman (R-MI-01)
  • Moolenaar (R-MI-04)
  • Upton (R-MI-06)
  • Walberg (R-MI-07)
  • Latta (R-OH-05)
  • Johnson (R-OH-06)
  • Gibbs (R-OH-07)
  • Turner (R-OH-10)
  • Balderson (R-OH-12)
  • Stivers (R-OH-15)
  • Reschenthaler (R-PA-14)
  • Thompson (R-PA-15)
  • Kelly (R-PA-16)
  • Lamb (D-PA-17)
  • Doyle (D-PA-18)
  • Stefanik (R-NY-21)
  • Brindisi (D-NY-22)
  • Reed (R-NY-23)
  • Collins (R-NY-27)
  • Welch (D-NY, at-large)

A special thanks to Sen. Klobuchar and Reps. Welch and Stauber for introducing and supporting the standalone bills in both the Senate and House.

Check to see if your Senate and House Members support the important legislation for the Trail.

Track legislation:

Additional Advocacy Resources: