North Country Trail Association

Trail Towns

Establish, implement and communicate the program in your Trail Town.

A Trail Town is a community through which the North Country National Scenic Trail passes that supports hikers with services, promotes the Trail to its citizens, and embraces the Trail as a resource to be protected and celebrated. Trail Towns are built on a relationship between a town, the Trail and its local volunteers.











Trail Town signage guidelines are included in the Informational and Interpretive Sign Process Guidelines. Trail Town sign templates are available via NCTA Regional Trail Coordinators.

Current NCTA Trail Towns

Abercrombie, North Dakota
Dayton, Ohio*
North Creek, Johnsburg, New York

The Buckeye Trail Association (BTA) offers a Trail Town program, as well. The following Ohio locations are official BTA Trail Towns that are also on the North Country National Scenic Trail, which shares trail route with the Buckeye Trail through most of Ohio. They are listed west to east: Napoleon, Defiance, Delphos, Spencerville, St. Marys, Fort Loramie, Piqua, Troy, Dayton*, Yellow Springs, Xenia, Spring Valley, Loveland, Milford, Shawnee, Deersville, and Zoar*.

*Dayton and Zoar are official Trail Towns of both the NCTA and the BTA.

Header photo by Thomas Lane